did somebody say marathon training? Marseille here we come

i am booked. flights booked. bib booked. now i’ve got a short 14 weeks to train!

i am instantly happier. a goal again. last night i spent a few hours putting together my training plan. it’s a mash-up of runner’s world intermediate training with hill and speed work taken from my running group and Nike.

i really know nothing about the marseille course, or what to expect. from what i know of french races (based on the paris marathon)

  • french athletes are never thirsty because there are almost no water stations (well, water every 5k)
  • french athletes don’t pee, because there are hardly any porta potties
  • DONT DRINK A TON OF WINE THE NIGHT BEFORE THE MARATHON

the last bullet has less to do with france, and more to do with me having been an idiot before the paris marathon.

 

here we go!

2 Comments

  1. I hope some day the wife and I get to run over seas, so many places I would love to see. Always exciting to start a new plan and had to be even more exciting because of the location.

    Like

  2. France?? That’s awesome!!!

    I ran a half marathon in Spain and there were NO porta potties. Luckily, I never have to go during a race but I saw women go inside restaurants mid race!! Dudes just whipped it out and went next to a tree or bush. No joke.

    Like

Leave a Reply

